Back to Top

Letter: Lamorinda Weekly "Former mayors for positive change"

Former mayors for positive change

We are nine former mayors of Lafayette, and we are dismayed by the negative campaign rhetoric used by two of the five Lafayette City Council candidates. In contrast, Teresa Gerringer, Karen Maggio and Dave Smith are conducting positive campaigns.
Negative campaigns are infrequent in Lafayette’s 50-year history. In the past we have had civil discourse and issue discussions during campaigns. When disagreements arose, they were issue-oriented and without personal attacks.
We are upset by the exaggerations, misstatements, and half-truths at candidates’ night and in campaign material and campaign ads. Most especially, we are dismayed by the rhetoric against our volunteer commissioners and our City Manager, Steve Falk, who is one of the most respected city managers in California. Lafayette is run on a balanced budget, with
ample reserves and no pension debt. Few cities can boast these facts. After 28 years of exemplary service, no one, especially Steve, should be treated with such disrespect.
The attacks on the Planning Commissioners and the City Manager are an attack on us, and the voters who elected us. We, as Mayors and council members, made the policies carried out by the City Manager and commissioners. We are proud of our decisions and are honored by the service that so many have given. Lafayette’s meetings adhere to the state “sunshine" laws for open meetings, and we discipline those who have run afoul of these laws.
The city works with all our citizens to get their input.
We need council members who can forge agreements with each other and with neighboring jurisdictions. Traffic is a regional issue and we must elect council members who are collaborative in nature, not confrontational, to work cooperatively with the nearby cities whose drivers impact our roads.
We support Teresa Gerringer, whose 19 years of service on the school board, and Karen Maggio, whose years of service on the planning commission, are positive, proactive hard-working volunteers. Also, they both helped to build our new library. Their years of dedication to Lafayette distinguish them.
Lafayette needs them on the City Council.
Don Tatzin, Mayor 1986-87, 1991-92, 1996-97, 2001-02, 2008-09, 2013-14, 2017-18
Mike Anderson, Mayor 2007-08, 2012-13, 2016-17
Brandt Andersson, Mayor 2009-10, 2014-15
Carol Federighi, Mayor 2002-03, 2006-07, 2011-12
Carl Anduri, Mayor 2004-05, 2010-11
Erling Horn, Mayor 1998-99, 2003-04
Anne Grodin, Mayor 1993-94. 1997-98
Judy Garvens, Mayor 1995-96
Bob Fisher, Mayor 1970-71, 1974-75

Paid for by Gerringer for Lafayette Council 2018, P.O. Box 1672, Lafayette, CA 94549, FPPC#1409868
Powered by - Political Campaign Websites
Close Menu